Lincoln Memorial University


JFWA Beta Club Inducts New Members

HARROGATE, Tennessee, March 12, 2019— The J. Frank White Academy (JFWA) Beta Club welcomed 31 new members at the annual induction ceremony held March 5, at the Abraham Lincoln Library and Museum Arnold Auditorium.


The JFWA Beta Club is a chapter of The National Beta Club, an organization for fourth through 12th-grade students in the United States. It is the largest independent, nonprofit, educational youth organization in America. For more than 80 years, Beta Club has prepared today’s students to be tomorrow’s leaders by promoting the ideals of academic achievement, character, leadership and service among elementary and secondary school students. Although there are universal requirements, each Beta Club chapter has its own criteria for selection. JFWA’s criteria include reaching an 87 grade average and maintaining an 85, participating in monthly service projects led by the club officers and serving five hours of community service beyond the 25 hours required each year for every Academy student.  

Monthly service projects include raising money for the Claiborne County Relay For Life and the CEASE women’s shelter and donating Christmas gifts for local children through St. Mary’s Church in Middlesboro, Kentucky, and the Bell-Whitley Community Action Agency in Pineville, Kentucky. 


Primary Beta inductees were: fourth-graders Talmadge Blair (Holmes Mill, Kentucky), Rachel Fannon (Tazewell, Tennessee), Karsyn Noe (Harrogate, Tennessee), Josiah Williamson (Harrogate, Tennessee); fifth-graders Gracie Blair (Holmes Mill, Kentucky), Gavin Galloway (Pennington Gap, Virginia), Shelby Higgins (New Tazewell, Tennessee), Journey Jackson (LaFollette, Tennessee), Tyler Nickerson (LaFollette, Tennessee), Van Nickerson (LaFollette, Tennessee), Madilynn Seidel (Jonesville, Virginia) and Cutchin Wynn (Jonesville, Virginia).


Junior Beta inductees were: sixth-graders Marley Caldwell (LaFollette, Tennessee), Elizabeth Flinner (New Tazewell, Tennessee), Anna Graham (Harrogate, Tennessee), Ellie Lintelman-Nader (Harrogate, Tennessee), Rhett Posey (Tazewell, Tennessee), Georgia Robards (LaFollette, Tennessee), Avery Thompson (Tazewell, Tennessee) and seventh-grader Anna Evans (New Tazewell, Tennessee),


Senior Beta inductees were: eighth-grader Caitlin Davis (LaFollette, Tennessee); freshmen Caleb Carney (Harrogate, Tennessee), Connor Foster (Jacksboro, Tennessee), Jaymin Huddleston (Harrogate, Tennessee) and Gage Piercy (New Tazewell, Tennessee); sophomores Jaelyn Gunter (Jacksboro, Tennessee) and Hunter Whitaker (Cumberland Gap, Tennessee);  juniors Angelina Holtsclaw (New Tazewell, Tennessee), Simon Strickland (Cumberland Gap, Tennessee) and Jacob  Yeary (Tazewell, Tennessee) and senior Elizabeth Beason (New Tazewell, Tennessee).


The J. Frank White Academy is a private coeducational college preparatory school located on the campus of Lincoln Memorial University. JFWA is now accepting applications for grades K-12 for fall 2019. For more information contact Director of Admissions Cory Cheek at or apply online at


Lincoln Memorial University is a values-based learning community dedicated to providing educational experiences in the liberal arts and professional studies. The main campus is located in Harrogate, Tennessee. For more information about the undergraduate and graduate programs available at LMU, contact the Office of Admissions at 423.869.6280 or email




423.869.3611 | 800.325.0900
6965 Cumberland Gap Parkway
Harrogate, TN 37752